Navigation
Home Page

Schools Direct Information

WE ARE RECUITING NOW!!
I would like to provide you with a few details about our Schools Direct Consortium. I am the headteacher here at Anton Junior School in Andover and I am co-ordinating the Schools Direct initiative for a large group of schools in the Test Valley area under the name of our school. Anton was recognised as an 'outstanding school' in our Ofsted inspection in 2014 and has a long record of working with trainee teachers. We have now joined forces with a large group of like-minded schools; the full list of schools and their headteachers is as follows;
 
Anton Infant School   Matthew.Lowden@anton-inf.hants.sch.uk
Anton Junior School    t.donohoe@anton-jun.hants.sch.uk
Portway Junior School   tim.deery@portway-jun.hants.sch.uk

Knights Enham Junior H.INGLIS@knightsenham-jun.hants.sch.uk 
Oakridge Junior School diane.charman@oakridge-jun.hants.sch.uk
Merdon Junior School J.Walker@merdon.hants.sch.uk 
Clatford Primary School A.RICE@clatford.hants.sch.uk
Vigo Infants school A.Perriam@vigo-inf.hants.sch.uk
Wolverdene Special School P.VanWalwyk@wolverdene.hants.sch.uk
North Waltham Junior School J.MAIDMENT@northwaltham.hants.sch.uk
Vigo Junior School N.SMITH@vigo-jun.hants.sch.uk
Padnell Infant School M.Marsh@padnell-inf.hants.sch.uk
Norman Gate Special C.Gayler@normangate.hants.sch.uk
Great Binfields Primary J.Rogers@greatbinfields.hants.sch.uk 
Pilgrims Cross Primary  amanda2002@gmail.com
Marchwood Junior School L.Anderson@marchwood-jun.hants.sch.uk
St Mary Bourne Primary School J.Nelson@st-marybourne.hants.sch.uk
Portway Infant School 2007sa@hants.gov.uk
Grateley Primary School T.Thomas@grateley.hants.sch.uk
 
 
I believe strongly in Schools Direct as an effective route into the world of teaching and whilst your year spent working in school will prove exhausting, it will also be rewarding and if you work hard and put a lot into it, you will find that you are well prepared for your newly qualified year.

Between these schools we have 27 Schools Direct places for September 2015 with the support of The University of Winchester. We are currently recruiting trainees to start in our schools in September and there are a number of interview days planned in the
coming weeks and months. To apply use the link below;

 

In order to apply use this link https://www.ucas.com/ucas/teacher-training/find-training-programme

Choose 'Get Started Now with our Search Tool' and type 'Anton' into the 'Search for a Training Provider' in the bottom box.

 
There are a number of benefits to SDs if you register with the National College for Teaching and Leadership, so I would advise you to do that. You will receive a helpful step-by-step guide to becoming a teacher; email updates with important news on teacher training, funding and events in your area; the option to call the team of UK-based teaching experts for advice and information on how you can interact with NCTL and even get your questions answered via Facebook and Twitter!
 
You are probably aware that with Schools Direct being a work based route into teaching, it is vitally important that you have gained some good, meaningful experience during your time in primary schools. Applicants without this experience generally find the rigorous interview process difficult and fail to secure a place on Schools Direct.
 
If you are applying for an ITT course which begins in 2014/15 or after, you will need to have passed the teaching skills tests before the start of the course. It is recommended that applicants take their tests as soon as possible after submitting their application and before their interview.

 

I firmly believe that primary teaching is the best job in the world, if you would like to find out more about it, about Schools Direct, or would like to arrange a visit to Anton Junior please do not hesitate to make contact with me.
 
Kind Regards,
Tom Donohoe

2004tjd@hants.gov.uk

01264 352845

 
Top